Calendar module icon

Calendar

View all calendars is the default. Choose Select a Calendar to view a specific calendar.

Select the arrows on either side of the current month to change the month.

Library Calendar

  1. Child’s Play, a Drop-In Program for Children 0-2 years and Their Caregivers

    October 16, 2019, 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM @ Story Time Room
    Needham Free Public Library

    Child’s Play is a drop-in program for children 0-2 years and their caregivers. The songs, rhymes, lap games and books in this program will promote rhythm, coordination and verbal skills in young children as well as bonding between child and caregiver.

    More Details
  2. NPL Evening Book Club - The Honest Truth about Dishonesty: How We Lie to Everyone - Especially Ourselves by Dan Ariely

    October 16, 2019, 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM @ Community Room
    Needham Free Public Library

    Dan Ariely, behavioral economist and the New York Times bestselling author of The Upside of Irrationality and Predictably Irrational, examines the contradictory forces that drive us to cheat and keep us honest, in this groundbreaking look at the way we behave: The (Honest) Truth About Dishonesty.
    From ticket-fixing in our police departments to test-score scandals in our schools, from our elected leaders’ extra-marital affairs to the Ponzi schemes undermining our economy, cheating and dishonesty are ubiquitous parts of our national news cycle—and inescapable parts of the human condition. Drawing on original experiments and research, in the vein of Freakonomics, The Tipping Point, and Survival of the Sickest, Ariely reveals—honestly—what motivates these irrational, but entirely human, behaviors.

    More Details
  3. Diversity and Discussion Book Club - 57 Bus: A True Story of Two Teenagers and the Crime That Changed Their Lives by Dashka Slater

    October 16, 2019, 7:30 PM - 9:00 PM @ Community Room
    Needham Free Public Library

    If it weren’t for the 57 bus, Sasha and Richard never would have met. Both were high school students from Oakland, California, one of the most diverse cities in the country, but they inhabited different worlds. Sasha, a white teen, lived in the middle-class foothills and attended a small private school. Richard, a black teen, lived in the crime-plagued flatlands and attended a large public one. Each day, their paths overlapped for a mere eight minutes. But one afternoon on the bus ride home from school, a single reckless act left Sasha severely burned, and Richard charged with two hate crimes and facing life imprisonment.
    This riveting nonfiction book for teens about race, class, gender, crime, and punishment tells the true story of an agender teen who was set on fire by another teen while riding a bus in Oakland, California. One teenager in a skirt. One teenager with a lighter. One moment that changes both of their lives forever. ...

    More Details